Posted by: Fern | February 21, 2007

Introducing Declan Bede Treacy

PICT48621


I’m a little late with this post, but I haven’t had a clue what I’m meant to say. I went into hospital on the 16th with five minutely contractions,was examined, told that there was no way I was in labour and sent home and told to come back when it hurt – a few hours later my waters broke all over our bed.

This is the point where you’d think it would all be fairly easy, but I’ve never been one for doing it the traditional way, and obviously my son isn’t either. I ended up sitting in hospital for three days having minor contractions and willing my body to start labour naturally, when the doctors determined that there was no way that was going to happen I was booked in for an induction at 8:30 on Monday morning.

At 8:28pm, after twelve hours of labour, gas, morphine, an epidural, limitless abuse thrown at my poor suffering husband, three separate second degree tears and countless demands for them to “just cut it out of me!!!!”, our son was born. He’s pink, chubby and is sucking and eating like a pro. He’s very mellow, loves to just be held or draped in some way, just so long as he’s got human contact he’s chuffed, he’s a little limpet. He’s also a fairly big boy considering he was born two weeks early.

After all of that whining over the last few months I was so happy that we didn’t find out the sex, there was something really magical about hearing Dan say “It’s a boy!” as he came out, despite me being in such a daze that I had to ask for confirmation about five times. Dan was an absolute trooper the entire day, he was so wonderful through out it all and didn’t turn green until it was time to stitch me back together, which I think would turn anyone’s stomach.

He’s feeding amazingly, he’s obviously a boob-man, I’m healing really well and everything is looking fabulous, we’re coming home tomorrow afternoon.

PICT48451Declan Bede Treacy
8:28pm Monday 19th February
8lb 3oz 55cm
APGAR: 9/9
(an overachiever already!)

I guess Jovis the giraffe has some competition now, who’s going to get the most blog inches?

– As a side note, although I can get online I can’t actually access my email due to some problems we’re having with the server, so I’m not ignoring anyone who may have sent emails, I promise! I should hopefully get around to it this weekend assuming the little one lets me have a break.

Responses

  1. I’m so proud of you Fern! I want to cry every time I see Declan’s little cherub face!

  2. Congratulations!!! What a beautiful little baby. Sorry labor was so wonky for you, but the little boy looks totally worth it. 🙂

  3. What a cutie! Well done all! Glad to hear he’s mellow and happy, 🙂 I’m very proud of my first nephew!


Leave a Reply

Categories

