Posted by: Fern | March 15, 2007

On Check Ups, Moving and Sci-Fi

PICT4936Yesterday was Declan’s four week check up, I can’t wrap my head around how fast time is going already, he’ll be one month old in four days time! My worries about him not growing turned out to be completely unfounded, from his check out weight of 7lbs and 8oz he’s now up to 9lbs and 3oz, in just 21 days! His head circumference and body length are both up by a centimetre as well. My little boy is turning into a heifer!

We finally had enough of our shitty landlord – we spent last weekend without running water and we’re up to week three of them fobbing us off with excuses not to replace our broken cooker. I never thought I would miss throwing some oven chips and pies in the oven but damn I’m getting fed up of trying to cook a half decent meal on just one remaining element. Soooo, we’re now looking around for a house which means I won’t have three flights of stairs to fight a pram up and down so I’ll be able to get out more and within walking distance of Dan’s new teaching job which he’s due to start at the beginning of May. At the moment it seems that for the price that we’re looking at we can either get a three bedroom townhouse or villa, or a two bedroom one with air conditioning. I don’t think I can go another summer without air con, particularly with the bub so I’m willing to sacrifice the spare bedroom. We’ve found a perfect townhouse that they’ve only just finished building that we’re waiting to hear back about on Monday, so fingers crossed that will all work out, if not then we have a couple of back up places.

Stargate SG-1 reached the end of its run last night, I was never a big fan unlike my geeky husband. He was looking through the quotes this evening and read aloud this gem to me, it seems to sum things up perfectly right now, nuclear nappies and all.


Colonel Dave Dixon:
Yeah, all-night screaming, projectile vomiting, nuclear diapers… you have no idea. The reason they make them so damn cute is so you don’t suffocate them in their sleep.
Senior Airman Simon Wells: Sir, you have *four* kids.
Colonel Dave Dixon: Yeah, why do you think I enjoy my work so much?
Colonel Dave Dixon: Don’t get me wrong, I love those little buggers to death, but trust me, having four kids makes going through a Stargate facing off against alien bad guys look like nothing.
Colonel Dave Dixon: This is relaxing.
Senior Airman Simon Wells: Then why did you have four?
Colonel Dave Dixon: Well, one’s pretty bad, but you figure you got to have two so the little guy can have a brother or sister, right? Then you have two boys, and the wife says she want a girl so you figure “Hell, three can’t be much harder than two”, right? What you don’t realize is that your brain’s fried because you haven’t slept. After three, four is no big deal. You’re so deep in it that nothing seems to matter any more. It’s chaos. You’re just trying to make it through each day alive. In the end you spend all the energy you have trying to get them into bed only to lie awake praying they don’t get hooked on drugs, hurt, or worse… wind up dead in an alley somewhere.
Senior Airman Simon Wells: Can’t wait, sir.
Colonel Dave Dixon: Yeah, miracle of birth, my ass. I’ll tell you what a miracle is, birth control that works.

Responses

  1. Hey Fern, I am glad to see that the baby is doing good and you seem to be loving motherhood too! Go You! And good luck with moving and stuff. Cx


Leave a Reply

Categories

