Posted by: Fern | September 30, 2007

A Baby Update

My big boy

Since turning six months Declan has developed so much his little brain must be hurting with the amount of stuff it’s taking in. He can sit up completely unassisted for as long as he wants now, though he has taken some tumbles that would make Johnny Knoxville proud – always followed by singing the “It’s Okay Because Your Head Is Still Attached Song” penned by yours truly (I’m working on a catchier title). He belly crawls across the entire floor now, with a definite purpose, to the point that we’re going out this week to buy a pair of baby gates to completely section off our lounge from the rest of the house. He has one little tooth with another one due to sprout up any day soon, he’s been good with not biting me, it’s mainly when he gets bored with being on the boob and figures that to amuse himself he’s make Mummy scream. He’s perfected the pincher grip, which works perfectly with him crawling, particularly if I haven’t yet hoovered after breakfast, he will happily scoot around and collect all of the fallen raisins. The first day I Poserpicked him up and hoovered immediately, the second day I winced slightly as he put each one into his mouth, by the third day I was contemplating just feeding him off the floor so that I could save myself the work of having to clean the walker. He’s sleeping most of the night now, although the last couple of days he’s woken up, we think with this new tooth giving him grief, I don’t believe that in the space of two days I went from having a baby that would wake up six times a night, to having one that would sleep 8 hours, waking maybe once on occasion. I love my doctor for letting me in on that secret. He can hold and feed himself his a bottle, and when he wakes up in the morning or after naps more often than not he’ll spend about fifteen minutes playing and amusing himself before he starts whinging, I’m trying to go in whilst he’s happy to encourage it and so far it seems to be working. He’s also giving kisses, but so far only to me, he’ll grab my cheeks or hair and pull me close wrap his mouth around my cheek or chin and suck, it’s slobbery and fairly gross, but I love it, the first thing he did when I picked him up from this mornings nap was grab my face and give me a big slobbery kiss on my cheek, I love it.

I can’t wait for my Mum to come back from New Zealand and see how much he’s changed since she left almost six weeks ago, I miss her 😦

I’ve been feeling a lot better lately, like my head is properly screwed on for once. I started taking Zoloft two weeks ago and I think it’s really helped, although it has coincided with finding the trick to get Declan to sleep. I’m finding it a lot easier to cope with just day to day life, and if the babe has a bad day, or Dan makes a comment without thinking it through, it’s not the end of the world. I’m not sure how long I’ll stay on it, but I’m glad I gave in to the suggestions of my Mum and Dan to stop being so stubborn and just get a script 🙂

Responses

  1. I love the items you have crocheted….your little man is a handsome devil!

  2. omg I can’t believe he is 6 months old already – time flies!!!

    You seem more content and thats a really good thing! I’m pleased. x.

  3. Declan is SUCH a cutie!! And I am totally admiring your photography skills!!!!

    It’s amazing how much they can do already isn’t it?? W/ each baby I’m more and more amazed!

  4. aite..ur blog is nice..and declan is so cute! feel free to visit my blog =]


Leave a Reply

Categories

