Posted by: Fern | October 31, 2007

The Bible Reworked

The three of us went out for dinner tonight with my mother and father-in-law, brother-in-law, and my niece and nephew. I generally dread a night out, worried that I’ll see the carnage Alicia experienced last month, sometimes the boy is wonderful, and other times he is a holy terror. Declan was surprisingly well behaved which was a nice surprise and I actually managed to eat a meal whilst it was still hot, score one for team Fern!

My five year old niece is just coming to the end of her first year of school and was excitedly telling the whole table about the upcoming Christmas nativity concert. She explained that she was hoping to get a part, and when we asked her which one she’d be going for she told us… The Fairy. Now, as a raging heathen I may have my wires crossed, but as far as I remember, there weren’t any fairies present at the birth of Jesus, so I asked her to clarify, maybe she meant an angel?

“No Auntie Fern. There were four fairies that came down and granted baby Jesus four wishes”

Silly me.

Suffice to say, I’m really keen on going to see the show now, just to find out exactly what it is that the J-Man wished for. 🙂

Responses

  1. Whoa – sounds like they have indeed reworked the bible story to be more like a fairy tale. I think it’s a shame.


Leave a Reply

Categories

