Posted by: Fern | November 29, 2007

Music Meme

I am feeling like crap, and I’m braindead, so you’re getting a meme today. I was tagged by ME, hah. Because I can.

Put your music player on ‘random’ or ‘shuffle’ mode and write down the first 20 songs that are played. You can skip if the same artist comes on twice but otherwise you have to spill the beans, no matter how embarrassing.

Now just to confuse the matter a little more, all of our songs are kept on the same computer, and we haven’t bothered to split them up into playlists yet. You can think about our musical tastes something like the graph that I can’t remember the name of right now (I told you I was brain dead) where two circles interlock, one side is Dan, one side is myself, and the middle is the songs we actually both like. The problem is, those songs that aren’t within the overlap, we generally hate with a passion, in his case it’s the “Wham!”, “Take That” and my secret love of cheesy late 80s and 90s pop, and the Christmas songs that are in our play list all year round. In my case it’s Evanescence, Destiny’s Child & Beyonce (yeah, wtf?!), Squirrel Nut Zippers, Choirboys, and other stuff that I usually dive up to skip.

So, if it’s outside my circle and the overlap, then it’ll be skipped and ignored. And if anyone could tell me the name of that damn graph I would appreciate it, Google is giving me nothing.

  1. Guns N Roses – Since I Can’t Have You
  2. Uncle Cracker – Follow Me
  3. Methods Of Mayhem – Get Naked
  4. Hahaha, okay, just to prove my point of how lame Dan is, John Williamson’s “Big Bad Bushranger” would be number 4 if we were including it, for those that aren’t familiar with it (i.e. basicly everyone that doesn’t live in Australia), it’s a song about Ned Kelly, talking about how he steals “the royal mail and gives all the money to his girlfriend, Gail”, lyics are here… I think this could be ground for divorce, irreconcilable differences anyone? Going with just my music, number four turned out to be Take That – Pray (live).
  5. Darius Danesh – Colourblind (okay, maybe I should stop taking the piss out of Dan after these last two…hmm)
  6. Dave Matthews Band – Don’t Drink The Water
  7. George Michael- Roxanne (I love George, but oh god he ruined this song)
  8. Poison – Unskinny Bop (Yaaaaaaaay!!!)
  9. Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here
  10. Bryan Ferry – Jealous Guy
  11. Blondie – One Way Or Another
  12. Robbie Williams – Freedom (cover of George Michael’s “Freedom 93”, it’s very apt for Robbie)
  13. David Bowie – Everyone Says Hi
  14. Dennis Leary – Asshole (I challenge you to listen to this without belting out “I’m an asshooooooooole” at full blast.
  15. R.E.M. – Crush With Eyeliner
  16. Adam Ant – Prince Charming
  17. AC/DC – Thunderstruck
  18. Boney M – Little Drummer Boy (You now see what I mean about the Christmas music…ahem. I also can’t believe we just went from AC/DC to Boney M, very eclectic.)
  19. Prince – Bambi
  20. The Spencer Davis Group – Gimme Some Lovin’

ETA: VENN DIAGRAM!!!!

Responses

  1. OMG! my ipod just decided to die at number 11. hopefully it doesnt die entirely because i dont have i backed up anywhere!

  2. you forgot to include Black Velvet. I have a tape of you at about 10yrs old singing that at a karoke contest.I must be getting old, I have never heard of half your songs lol. My no. 1 song would be Me and Mrs Jones by Billy Paul

  3. okay heres my 20
    1 Michael Bolton – Vesti la Giubba
    2 Dean Martin – La Vie En Rose
    3 Shirley Temple – I want a hippopotumus for xmas
    4 Trace Atkins – Honky Tonk Bodonkey Donk
    5 Michael Jackson – Ben
    6 Cher – Shoop Shoop Song
    7 Village People – Y.M.C.A
    8 Queen – Bohemian Rhapsady ( Remember the trip to sea world )
    9 Cliff Richard- Daddy’s Home
    10 Gretchen Wilson – Redneck Woman
    11 Florrie Ford – Down at the Old Bull and Bush
    12 Elvis – I will remember you
    13 Wham – All she wants
    14 Hermans Hermits – Henry the 8th
    15 Shaking Stevens – This Old House
    16 Alisn Moyet – That ole devil called love
    17 Aaron Neville – Angola Bound
    18 Josh Groban To where you are
    19 Corriane Bailey Rae – Put your records on
    20 Al Jolson – April Showers

    Please Don’t Laugh


Leave a Reply

Categories

