Posted by: Fern | December 17, 2007

A Sad Christmas Story

Down at Parramatta Westfield – people reading this blog probably think I live down there… I think my husband sometimes thinks that as well, but it’s not true, I go there about twice a week to meet Mum from the train and then again a few days later to send her on her way back home, anyway, so down at the mall, outside K-Mart, every year a stall pops up selling handpainted Christmas baubles. Every year that I’ve been here I’ve always looked and admired them, and then last Christmas as I waddled around doing my xmas shopping I decided that next Christmas I’d buy one for the baby to mark his/her first Christmas.

On Friday I finally got around to putting in my order, I spent ages choosing a bauble, one that wasn’t too gaudy, but still cute, a nice cream one with holly leaves and berries on, spent the extra money to have “Declan 2007” hand-painted onto it. I was super excited, kept it so safe the whole way home, I’ve been worried about Declan pulling down the Christmas tree so I didn’t want to hang it on there, so instead I added it to my bookshelves, all of our bookshelves have tinsel across them an baubles hanging down, and one of them had the super special new bauble right in the centre of it, I taped it on so well and it looked just beautiful.

I’m sure you can all guess what’s coming next, lets just say that “looked” is the operative term there. This is what it looks like now.

PICT7038


As I was in the kitchen poaching some eggs for lunch I heard a smash, and then an “Oh no…” from Dan. Declan’s beautiful bauble fell and smashed into a million pieces on our carpet, at least it felt like a million when I was picking them up. I bawled my eyes out, and I’m still close to it now, I just can’t understand what happened, the string didn’t break, the tape is still on there, and the hook is firmly attached. I’m going back tomorrow to pick up a new one, the only problem is that they barely had any stock on Friday, and after the weekend I’m guessing it will be even less 😦

Responses

  1. […] Tell – Decorations and Ornaments I am resisting the urge to write about last year’s Christmas ornament disaster (for the clickphobes – I bought a handpainted ornament for Declan last year that was beautiful, it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

