Posted by: Fern | January 1, 2008

Welcoming In 2008

I secretly love a new year, I love the thought of fresh starts and new beginnings, everything being forgotten and rising from the ashes of the previous year, which is exactly what I intend to do.

2007 has been a year of ups and downs for me, the huge high of having a baby was quickly stunted by the overwhelming blackness that is post-partum depression, Declan becoming so sick completely threw us and making the adjustment from being a family of two to a family of three is something I’ve only recently really accepted. Dan’s unpredictable work schedule has been great when he’s getting work and the money is coming in, but it’s taken its toll in the times when his courses have been cancelled or over the holiday periods. Overall it has been a good year, but one I’m grateful to say goodbye to.

So, it’s time for resolutions and plans, my favourite thing ever, if you ever need someone to talk about what should be done and to write lists that will be lost within days, I’m your girl! Up until now I’ve never been one to follow through with my actions, but 2008 is the year to change that! So, my to do list for the year goes something like this…

  • Lose weight – I’m still 5kg over my pre-pregnancy weight, and certainly not as toned (not that I was ever solid, but I’m sure I didn’t have these soggy bits before!). I would like to lose 15kg to bring me back to what should be my ideal weight.
  • Earn some money – I never thought I wouldn’t like not making money, turns out I’m not meant to be a kept woman, but I am meant to be a stay at home mum, I want to find a way to successfully combine the two and bring in a minimum of $100 a week – not a huge amount, but it’s the gap between the government money we receive and our rent, all I want to do is fill that, some projects are in the works at the moment and I’ll keep you updated when they come to fruition.
  • Continue developing me – this may sound absolutely crazy, but it’s something Mum and I have been working on in the last couple of months. After giving birth I fell very happily into the joggers and t-shirt stained with breastmilk and mushed carrots look, I really don’t want to do that as it does nothing for my self-esteem, I have some great new pieces for my wardrobe, a fab new haircut and I feel like I’m emerging into a new person, I want to keep this up and continue working on it as I really like the effect it’s having on me, and.. tmi, on my marriage 😉
  • Become more organised – organisation is not in my genes, and I didn’t actually realise just how bad I am about it until I had Declan, simple things like keeping the house “guest tidy”, not forgetting absolutely everything I’m meant to be doing and just being generally more fabulous 😀
  • Work on my portfolio -I want to start uni part time next year or the year after full time, the course I have my heart set on doing, leading to a career that I know I would love, requires a portfolio of artwork to apply with, I want to spend the next year working on my artwork and getting back into sketching to build a portfolio that is university worthy.
  • And last, but certainly not least, I’ve decided to follow Jen in her new year goal to do The Big, Fun, Scary Adventure Challenge, Jen hasn’t yet revealed what hers is though, but I’m sure it’s grander than mine. Mine is to complete Blog 365 or NaBloPoYe as I think is more appropriate, but not as catchy. Basically it’s NaBloPoMo on a grander scale, the entire year, 365 days of posts, with only one day off, the 29th of February.  I’m not sure if I’ll make it past January, but we shall see.

I also mentioned in last nights post about some healthy competition… this, as it usually is, is between my husband and I. He insists that he can start a fresh blog and instantly create a higher readership than I currently have on this one that’s been running for just over a year. I say that he’s full of BS, but I’ll let you know at the end of each month who has the better stats and then announce the final winner in a years time, at the moment only pride is on the line, but I’m trying to work out a better prize for the winner (AKA me) $50 in Spotlight Vouchers for every month won sounds about right 😉

So bring on 2008!

Responses

  1. Happy New Year to you!!! I think your “resoultions” sound great and you are motivated enough that I think you’ll pull them off!!

    And….I hope you win your lil’ bet too!!!

  2. These are great motivational resolutions, Fern. Good luck with them. 😀 xx

  3. your husband says things like this all the time but he doesnt stick with it! how many journals has he started in the last 7 years only to get bored with them and revert to his old watching ways 🙂

    i think i could tick all your “resolultions” except the posting everyday one… the idea of doing that makes me shake! my journal is so not a blog!

  4. Great stuff. Good luck with the resolutions – I aint good at keeping them unless I have tonnes of motivation.

  5. Charm – Dan is shocking with that, we were actually talking about it last night, I think he just enjoys popping the cherry of a new blog or making a big dramatic “I’m back” post only to vanish within a week… and he calls me the attention whore!


Leave a Reply

Categories

