Posted by: Fern | February 1, 2008

One Brain Between Us

Dan and I are fairly similar in a lot of ways, right up until it gets to the way we think, the way we work and the way we problem solve. I am a very emotional “left-brainer”, Dan is a very logical “right-brainer”. The last week or so we’ve gone into overdrive on my store, I’ve been sewing and creating stock in every spare moment and he’s stayed up until stupid-oclock working on the coding and the clever bits. We had intended to launch today (and there is still a chance that we might get to do it today, I’ll keep you updated!) but due to some flaws in the system – like the software processing an order and taking peoples money but not actually letting us know that something has been ordered – only a minor problem! 😉

The last week has highlighted the huge difference in the way we think, I will demand something to look prettier not understanding the technicalities behind, he won’t understand why I’d want the shade of something changed just slightly when to him “bluey-green” looks exactly the same as “greeny-blue”. This combined with the fact that we are just as stubborn as one another, and of course, always right, it has certainly been revealing!

It’s been interesting, and we’ve had more than a few cross words with each other so I am in no hurry to do it again! so far the store is looking great, there are a few things that need to be ironed out, but I am getting very excited about finally having something that we’ve been planning for almost a year now so close to being up and ready to go, and of course grateful to my husband for putting up with me as I ranted and raved about everything he was doing wrong.

Hopefully I will be able to write tonight that we have officially launched!

Responses

  1. “like the software processing an order and taking peoples money but not actually letting us know that something has been ordered – only a minor problem!”

    You’d be surprised how many online stores I’ve worked on DON’T inform people that they’ve ordered. I’ve always found it strange too, these are serious multimillion pound buisnesses we’re talking about!

  2. Ooooh!!! Goodluck with everything! I’ll be sure to hit the refresh button every 30 mins to see if it’s up and running yet! *crosses fingers for you*


Leave a Reply

Categories

