Posted by: Fern | May 9, 2008

My Little Picasso

I had a long post written out here all very deep and meaningful and introspective, about Declan and Fairy Tales and blessings, until I read it back and decided I sounded like I’d been breathing in a bit too much hairspray lately, and that it was an awfully roundabout way to get around to saying that Declan had his first painting session today!

PICT8102

He was very taken with it, and far less was ingested than I had thought. I barely had to show him what to do before he had his hands covered in the stuff, smooshing it around and making hand prints. I hope and pray this is a sign of things to come, and that my son has inherited my artistic ability as opposed to his fathers. So far he is a little clone of Dan, I would like just one of my traits to show up eventually.

PICT8109-1

Dan seemed to think that my “paint” was somewhat novel, I thought it was something everyone in the world knew how to make, but just incase, I give you…

PICT8100Fern’s Fabulous Recipe For Toddler Safe Paint

Throw two cups of any kind of flour you have laying around the house into a bowl, add COLD water until it forms a fairly smooth paste free of any big lumps, then slowly add freshly boiled (kettle is fine) HOT water, stirring constantly until it forms the right consistency – if you’re finger painting you’ll want it to be a little thicker, so add less water obviously. Split it into however many colours you’d like, add a few drops of food dye to each pot and you have non-toxic completely toddler safe “paint”, they can eat as much as that like, and although it won’t taste fabulous (Declan gave up after one mouthful) you will know exactly what they’re putting in their mouth. Considering the amount of paint a toddler can go through as well, this is a far cheaper alternative to buying bottle after bottle of poster paint.

Responses

  1. Oh very cute pic 🙂

    Thanks for the recipe for the paint, I think I’ll be trying some of that out soon!

  2. i hope you will be framing one of these 🙂
    i love his arting face.

  3. Oooo… thanks for that recipe, looks good! Artistic lil man you have there 🙂

  4. Some great paintings there!

    In the UK newspapers there was a story about a child who did similar paintings. Proud mum sent one painting to a modern art expert, not saying that it was done by a child, and he raved about it and gave it a high value.

    Which just goes to show what a con a lot of modern art really is.

    Mike.


Leave a Reply

Categories

