Posted by: Fern | May 31, 2008

Radiohead Vs Prince

Prince did an awesome cover at Coachella this year, Radiohead’s “Creep”, too bad I can’t share it with you as Prince is busy suing any site that uses his music and images faster than they can hit the bahleet button, now Radiohead has calling shenanigans.

From Yahoo! News

All videos of Prince’s unique rendition of Radiohead’s early hit were quickly taken down, leaving only a message that his label, NPG Records, had removed the clips, claiming a copyright violation. But the posted videos were shot by fans and, obviously, the song isn’t Prince’s.

In a recent interview, Thom Yorke said he heard about Prince’s performance from a text message and thought it was “hilarious.” Yorke laughed when his bandmate, guitarist Ed O’Brien, said the blocking had prevented him from seeing Prince’s version of their song.

“Really? He’s blocked it?” asked Yorke, who figured it was their song to block or not. “Surely we should block it. Hang on a moment.”

Yorke added: “Well, tell him to unblock it. It’s our … song.”

Now I make no secret of it, I love the purple one’s music, and I do enjoy his ecentricty, but I will be the first to admit that he’s an idiot when it comes his obsessive war against fans who simply want to enjoy his music, and he seems intent on self destruction. Just like the article says, it’s not his song, it’s not his video clip, it’s not his to copyright.

I propose that Radiohead cover a load of prince songs and release them all over the interwebs in retaliation, because if Radiohead have no choice in keeping the “Creep” clip up, then it’s only fair that Prince has no say in pulling their clips down. I’d love to see The Artist’s face when he “Internet Watchers” informed him of that one.

Responses

  1. do you like radiohead’s music? my friends are really into it but i find it obsessively depressing!! to the point where i cannot listen to it. and believe me, i can do being depressed!!

    I quite like princes music, but I agree he is a complete idiot these days.

    i never did get people who said they fancied prince though, that would be like fancying michael jackson – a completely alien concept!

  2. Never got Prince. At all. And I think his attitude toward the way the music industry is changing is just so pathetic!

    Radiohead on the other hand, are doing all the right things, embracing change, working with the fans. Good for them. Now I just wish they’d make something I liked again. Sigh. I’m afraid to me it’s still 1997.

  3. Claire – I’m only familiar with a couple of Radiohead songs, and they don’t do much for me, I do love Creep though 🙂

    As for fancying Prince, I can see it when he was in his prime, he may be bordering of dwarf stature and doesn’t do anything for me physically, but he oozed (and sometimes still does) sex through his attitude and his music. He must have been doing something right to get the kind of “ex-list” that he’s got!


Leave a Reply

Categories

