Posted by: Fern | July 21, 2008

Happy Anniversary To Us

Wedding Kiss

Two years ago Dan and I froze our bums off (outdoor wedding in the middle of winter wasn’t the best plan ever) and got hitched on top of a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

The week leading up to it was full of dramas, spurred on by the fact that I was nine weeks pregnant and hadn’t told anybody, I was throwing up every couple of hours and blaming it on pr-ewedding nerves. My Mum couldn’t for the life of her work out why my boobs no longer fitted into the my wedding dress that she’d bought just a couple of weeks before, let alone the other wedding dress that we’d bought six months before.

Dan cried like a big wimp during his vows whilst I struggled to keep a straight face during mine, if anyone had told me leading up to it that that was the way things would have gone I wouldn’t have believed them, normally I’m the one crying and he’s the one cracking up. We had the most awesome food at the reception. ALL of my family managed to attend, which considering my sisters and I are spread over four different countries was a fairly impressive feat.

Dan and I went back to the hotel room, leaving the reception early because I couldn’t breathe in my dress and kept on throwing up, I watched half of Good Will Hunting and fell asleep on the sofa. I woke Dan up at 5am the following morning by barfing into a ziplock sandwich bag.

It was all very romantic 🙂

Responses

  1. What a beautiful pic and love the anecdotal memories! Happy Anniversary!

  2. yay! happy anniversary!

  3. Wow. I can’t believe it’s been two years. I’m so happy for you guys. Congratulations!!!

  4. we got married in winter outdoors in Canberra. Now that’s crazy!

    Doesn’t Dan have red hair? I could swear you posted a photo a while back of a guy with red hair!

  5. Congratulations! It’s a beautiful picture 🙂

  6. Congratulations. LOVE the photo and your description of the day. I laughed through my DH’s vows and nobody thought I’d be able to get mine out. But I did. I’m normally teary too but was just SO nervous. 🙂

  7. Christ! That seemed like yesterday! I remember meeting up with Celeste for the first time and actually saying “ZOMG Fern’s married!” a lot.

    Was amusing, you should’ve been there.

  8. Happy Anniversary. What a wedding day story!

  9. Fantastic Picture.
    I love your account of the day! You styled it out so well at the time! Happy Anniversary 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

