Posted by: Fern | September 5, 2008

I Can Has Interwebz?

Dan gave me the internet!!! Yaaaaaaaaaaay.

Okay, so now I have a connection I can update the world on everything that’s going on.

Monday I got out of the shower, sat on the bed and discovered it drenched with fluid and blood, I went straight to the birth centre at Westmead Private and the best guess is that my waters broke in the shower and as I was washing black hair dye out of my hair I didn’t noticed the blood going down the plug hole. Once again I have PPROM (pre-term premature rupture of the membranes) combined with an unresponsive cervix. Part of my body has gone “right, lets have a baby” and another part has pulled a silly face and asked how on earth it’s supposed to do that. I have intermittent contractions but nothing significant and they’re fairly useless as they don’t actually do their job in dilating or even thinning my cervix. The main concern right now is infection as the baby is basically now exposed to the outside world without its membranes to protect it. I’ve had 48 hours of antibiotics via drip and canular and two days ago they switched me onto oral – much better because that’s only every eight hours and so I don’t get waken up through the night.

I’m being monitored every few hours through the day, as well as last thing at night and first thing in the morning, my temperature, blood pressure, pulse and the baby’s heartbeat to check for any signs of infection. I also have a CTG every morning for half an hour which monitors baby’s heart rate, movements and my contractions, this checks to see if he’s in any distress or if I’m having enough contractions to be concerned about. If they pick up any sign of infection or a high stress rate for babe then I’ll be straight in for an emergency caesarean, but so far it all looks good and neither the midwives or my doctor have any concerns. I stopped bleeding a day or so ago so they’re also very happy about that.

On Wednesday (48 hours after my waters broke) my Doctor came to see me to discuss my options. I could either stay in the hospital and continue to wait for either labour or the 37 week mark at which point they would induce me, or I could enter a trial that he was currently taking part in where I would get a 50/50 chance as to whether to be induced or to wait it out and babe would then be monitored as part of a control group to see whether there are benefits between waiting and inducing in women with cases like mine. I was convinced on entering the trial just so there was a chance of induction ASAP, I was missing Declan like crazy – I don’t think before this I’ve ever been away from him for more than ten hours at the very most and the thought of staying in hospital for three weeks was not a tempting one. Fortunately, Dan, my Mum and Declan’s paediatrician convinced me otherwise. Although we’re past the point of any lung or breathing issues the main concern at this stage of gestation is the sucking reflex forming and feeding issues, I know that if #2 was sick just because I couldn’t stick out sitting in a hospital bed for two weeks then I would have massive guilt issues, and I also know that my mental state would take a brutal kicking if I couldn’t breastfeed. As much as I miss Declan, I know he’s in safe hands with my Mum and Daniel, and as much as it sucks, he doesn’t seem to be missing me in the slightest! So I chose the “sit it out and wait” option. I think my OB/GYN is a bit pissed that I didn’t enter the trial, this is something that affects less than 0.5% of all pregnancies so I think he was fairly excited about having another guinea pig.

Ack, I just bahleeted half my damn post when my hand brushed the touchpad, damnit.

Anyway, I’m in here for the long haul. I’ve been embroidering and crochetting and I get on well with my cellmate, she’s been in here five weeks now for a shortened cervix, the food isn’t too terrible and I’m starting to learn which midwives are awesome and which ones are completely incompetent. I’m not on bedrest so I’m allowed to walk around and go to the cafe downstairs. Dan is coming to see me everyday, and Mum brings Declan in every other day although he’s more interested in showing off for the nurses than spending any time with me. I have a 24 hour pass this weekend, I’m allowed to go home on Saturday morning and return on Sunday afternoon so long as I take it easy, keep up with my meds and take my temperature, and I have the CTG right before I leave and as soon as I return. I’m very excited about seeing Declan, spending a night in my own bed and doing some last minute preparations for the new babe.

My Doctor came to see me this morning and he’s pencilled my induction in for Friday the 19th of September, spot on 37 weeks gestation and exactly nineteen months after Declan’s birth. I’m hoping I go naturally a few days before then as I now know just how horrible it is to be induced, but I don’t really see it happening that way! At least with that there then there’s an end in sight.

So, nothing to be overly concerned about at all, I’m healthy, #2 is healthy and as soon as anything is picked up wrong with either of us then at least we’re already in the right place. Right now we’re just focusing on growing and relaxing and trying not to think about just how much I miss Declan. 🙂

Responses

  1. All sounds a bit harrowing!

    Can I say the black hair dye was an almost amusing angle? Is that awful to say, because I’m sure as hell bleeding in pregnancy is not funny at all. But it was a sort of odd element.

    Anyway, I digress. I’m glad you’re feeling ok about it all and that the little one will arrive safe and sound in due course.

  2. glad to hear you’re still holding #2 in. bummed that you’re stuck in hospital. 19 sept is a good birthday. and it reduces the odds for the betting 🙂

    ((hugs)) stay sane babe!

  3. Two weeks to zero in on names!!! Just think, whilst crocheting, coffees in the cafe and blogging, you can try that husband of your down to some serious name selections.

    I have been keeping everyone up to speed, they all send their love. Give my number 4 g/child a big loving rub from me and Gar Gar. Now try to explain that name to your bloggers????

    Stay relaxed and enjoy this brief but restful period in your life, it will be some time before you get Fern-only time again.

  4. I hope all goes well 🙂 Sounds like a day at home this weekend will be just what you need.

    Take care 🙂

  5. Wow, I’ve got my fingers crossed (making typing pretty difficult, haha) that you don’t get any more dramas… Good luck with everything, and take it easy! xx

  6. Wow…I just don’t even know what to say about your doctor being pissed that you didn’t enter the trial. I guess that’s a sign of how far care of early babies has come; that they don’t feel any greater risk by letting you deliver earlier. Or maybe my opinion is reflecting the legal system here in the US…docs here would be afraid of being sued if delivering the baby early brought on ANY problems no matter how slight.

    Sorry to babble.

    Glad to hear you’re doing some crafting while you’re incarcerated, though! We’ll be looking forward to some pics when you can.

    Prayers still coming from across the pond that you and baby stay well and that all goes smoothly!

  7. I’m so glad to hear you’re okay! Lots of love and prayers coming your way xx

  8. i am glad to hear that you’re doing okay, given the circumstances. i hope that the remainder of your stay passes well.
    my brother is more than likely preparing your food.
    and, thank god the induction is for the 19th. a day earlier and the poor little mite would have to share mine.. and that is frightening.
    i reallyreally hope you are doing okay, miss

  9. Whoo…day after my Birthday! go on, schedule the 18th instead! much love from t’other side of the world! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

