Posted by: Fern | November 1, 2008

The Newest Member Of The Family

My New Baby
Day One of NaBloPoMo and I would like to introduce you to my new baby. He showed up just over a week ago after I found him on sale for $200 less than the usual price and decided to splurge using my 21st Birthday money from my Dad (and no, that wasn’t a typo!). I’ve barely had a chance to use it, but so far it’s turning out to be an awesome machine, the switch from driving manual to automatic is taking some adjusting, I can’t rely on the sound and feel of the motor as much as I could with my old machine, but I think I made a great choice, at least I should hope so after researching different models and brands for about a year!

My old machine hasn’t been put out to pasture yet, I’m going to keep her (no idea why she is feminine and the new one is masculine! – very odd) set up for heavy seams and any denim so she takes the brunt of the abuse. She’s still a great little machine and nothing is wrong with her, I just wanted to upgrade to more features, so I don’t want to pack her away and let her collect dust.

My (2nd) Favourite Stitch

The main thing I was after was a wider range of decorative stitches, I made up a sampler showcasing them and playing around with the width and length and they’re awesome, my second favourite stitch is a cute little repeating cross stitch that looks like I’ve actually taken the time to hand stitch it – this is it on an appliquéd panel (check out my beautiful Engrish linen I bought from Japan for a steal!) on a half finished bag, and the extra detail really completes the look… at least it will when I actually get a chance to finish the bag! Of course my favourite is the repeating fern leaf pattern which I can see getting a lot of use, on my sampler I stitched it up in some variegated green rayon and it looked superb!

Responses

  1. Oh, he is just beautiful. All new and shiny. I have a very old machine but have not been sewing much in recent years (I edged some wipes a coupla months ago and that’s the most action it’s seen in about 3 years!) so I can’t justify anything more lovely.

  2. You know what would be fab to make? A patchwork cover… you’ve probably done one already! Thats on my todo list. I am going to steal my mums machine any day now and see if i can pick up some bargin materials.


Leave a Reply

Categories

