Posted by: Fern | November 2, 2008

My Little Artist

PICT9336

For the last twenty months I have moaned that I had birthed a Mini-Dan, that Declan was a clone of his father that didn’t contain even the slightest hint of my DNA, and that he was going to grow up without the ability to even draw a stick figure. Turns out I just had to be patient! He has now become obsessed with drawing, colouring and playing with fabric and yarn. He now churns through colouring books at a furious pace and if I leave out my cutting mat and ruler he will retrieve some fabric and a tape measure from the sewing room and carefully lay it out, measure it all and line everything up, usually with a tape measure draped around his neck, I know that if I actually left any scissors out then my entire fabric collection would be shredded within minutes 🙂 Previously I would have said that he was destined to be a computer scientist or an engineer, but now I’m aiming for a graphic artist or fashion designer!

Of course this has its downsides, I have become an expert at removing crayon from the furniture, and have discovered that leaving a biro within reach is a guaranteed way to become the proud owners of our very own piece of artwork displayed about three feet off the floor. Despite the cleaning I am very proud that he’s taking an interest in something I love so much. I’m looking forward to him being a little older so we can start creating together and cover the house in poster paint and sequins.

Responses

  1. well nobody care for artist. Its same every decade every century.


Leave a Reply

Categories

