Posted by: Fern | December 10, 2008

S&T – My Top Five Christmas Movies

I will admit that I totally swiped this idea from Crystal’s Post discussing Christmas Movies, I’m feeling festive having finished up the Christmas shopping and thinking about getting the decorations up this weekend, it got me thinking about all the movies that get me in the festive mood.

So, in no particular order…

  1. Muppets’ Christmas Carol – I love the Muppets, and combined with Michael Caine as Scrooge they’re even better and perfect casting of Stadler and Waldorf as Marley’s Ghost.
  2. Jingle All The Way – I can’t write a movie list without Arnie showing up in it, this gets panned far more than it should. In the clip Arnie has just been convinced to come to a Santa warehouse where he’s been promised that he can buy the action toy for his son that he spends the entire movie searching for.
  3. Die Hard – My mum is arguing that this isn’s a Christmas movie, Dan and I are saying otherwise. It’s set at Christmas, Christmas music plays over both the opening and end credits, and there are terrorists of ambiguous european origin, I’m not sure what else you could ask for in a Christmas movie. I couldn’t find any decent clips for this, so you get the bunnies version instead.
  4. Gremlins – I watched this with my Dad one weekend when I was about eight, came home to Mum’s place on the Sunday night and had nightmares for the entire week. I have no idea how people still manage to write this off as a kids movie, it still scares the crap out of me. Phoebe Cate’s back story of her Father’s rotting body being found stuck in the chimney a couple of days after Christmas adds to the totally not safe for kids element.
  5. Hooves of Fire – Animation by Ardman, voiced by Robbie Williams and music by Mark Knophler, Christmas movies reached their peak in 2000 🙂

Honourable mentions also go to Love Actually, It’s A Wonderful Life and The Snowman, but they just weren’t quite good enough to make it to the top five.

What Christmas movies get you in the mood for the festive season?

Click here to see other people’s S&T entries for this week.

Responses

  1. I was scared of the Gremlins when I was little!
    Love your bloggy snowfall…

  2. Die Hard is also on my Christmas movie list, as well as Die Hard 2 and Lethal Weapon. Otherwise, more traditionally, I like A Christmas Story and Scrooged with Bill Murray. I still can’t watch Gremlins, even as an adult.


Leave a Reply

Categories

