Posted by: Fern | December 17, 2008

Quilty Goodness

First up, I gave my neighbour her Christmas present at her x-mas party the other day and I have been gagging to show it off on here.

Triple Goddess Mini

She’s Wiccan so was very excited about it, I’m just chuffed I managed to do appliqué without completely buggering it up. This was also my first time using double fold binding an I am already a convert, I will be tossing all my binding makers in favour of this technique. One of her friends at the party liked it so much she’s commissioned me to make a second one for her.

Triple Goddess Mini

I’m so happy about how the back looks as well, I already had the perfect FQ in my stash for this and it goes fabulously.

Christmas presents are going along really well, Jen, my BIL and niece are going to be in Australia for a couple of hours tomorrow on their way to the UK for Christmas so I needed theirs to be ready for then. I just need to bind one last quilt and label three others and at least that bit will be done. I’m halfway through my Mum’s mini-quilt, which is looking beautiful, it’s just extremely intricate so I can’t work on it for longer than an hour or so at a time without going nuts. I also have one for Dan’s grandmother that I am flat out scared of. I haven’t started it yet just because the pattern seems so overwhelming and I really don’t want to screw it up, I do have a back up if it all goes horribly wrong, but I just really want this to be perfect for her.

I still have stockings for the four of us to make, and if I have time I might make some stuffed shapes/rattles for Connor, but if that doesn’t happen it doesn’t happen, I’m not going to get stressed about it. I wanted to finish up Declan’s bed quilt, it needs one more row and to be quilted and bound, but that’s now going to be a Birthday present. I started it when he was six months old so I figure waiting a few more months isn’t going to hurt!

_______________________________-

Speaking of superb quilts, this showed up in my mail box this morning…
Awesome Mini Quilt

:-O woah! I mentioned doing a quilt swap with the lovely Holly a couple of weeks ago, and when I posted my crab the other day she expressed some interest went nuts raving about it, and so I offered it quilted up and sent out as a swap, and this is what I got in return! I mentioned a while back on CraftBlog how much I loved the twisted rose pattern and this is such a beautiful interpretation of it. I really need to tidy up my sewing room and get the desk properly set up so I can display this on the wall in there.

This was my first swap and I think I have officially been bitten by the bug, I thought I would be sad to see my little crab (and fabric I’d hand painted!) dive into the depths of the post box, but I was more excited that he was making his way to someone who would appreciate him more than I do.

Millie The Bunny
Millie The BunnyMum had been peering over my shoulder one night (as she does!) whilst I was browsing my flickr contacts and she spotted a sad little bunny in Holly’s photostream and absolutely fell in love. I mentioned how much Mum liked the bunny to Holly and, being the amazingly awesome and generous person she is, she said she’d put it into the parcel as well. Mum announced when I told her “He shall be called Marvin!” but by the time “Marvin” arrived Mum had decided he was a she, and so Marvin became Millie. Mum keeps on raving about how much she likes her paws, I am starting to wonder exactly when it was in the last couple of years that my mother lost her mind, I’m fairly certain she hasn’t always been this nutty.

She’s now obsessing over what to send Holly in return for Millie, she flat out refuses to sew on my machine so that’s out, so instead she’s raiding the beading supplies, I’m very curious to see what comes out of it 🙂

_________________

Charisma Charm PackLast one, I promise, because I know most of the people who read this really couldn’t care less. My first ever “charm pack” (a pack of usually 35-40 5×5 fabrics squares from the same range) arrived today, along with some fabric for the great project of 2009 and some pirate stuff for Connor’s bumper and bed set. I’ve always been wary of charm packs, but I think I might be a convert. Previously I thought that paying for pieces of fabric not much bigger than what I would consider scraps to be silly, but it’s really quite nice to have a little stack to leaf through and I’m already trying to come up with ideas for what to do with them. The range is “Charisma” by Chez Moi for Moda, really not my usual style of fabric (I tend to be all about noveltys and geometrics rather than florals, particularly vintage style like this) but it should be an interesting journey coming up with something to do with them.

Now that I’ve bored the crap out of the internet, I’m off to bed.

Responses

  1. Quilty goodness indeed! The quilted swirls look amazing with the fabrics you’ve chosen and Holly’s mini quilt is gorgeous too!

  2. Not bored at all actually! I thought about you tonight as I finally finished sewing a gift for my mother-in-law for Christmas. I was going so well until I sewed the bag together whilst attaching the handles. Sigh. I love my unpicker. I haven’t had the sewing machine out in so long I was worried I would forget but I am very pleased with myself, will blog about it after christmas when I have given the gift.

  3. Oh so pretty! Everything is just so pretty!!

  4. great stuff! how big do you make your quilts?

    that last fabric pack… ooh so pretty? where did you get it from?

  5. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog! I’d love to be in a charm pack swap if you hear of any! cheers

  6. Thanks guys!

    Claire – My sister said the same thing, she thought the gnome I did a couple of weeks back was a few foot long, then was shocked when she saw it IRL 😀

    I normally put notes on the flickr photo of the size, the moon one here is about 10x18inches, I normally keep around that size range. It makes everything more manageable. I can’t do anything too big!


Leave a Reply

Categories

